The Night Circus

1 Jun

As I finished this on Wednesday evening I shall now review it, so here we go, The Night Circus by Erin Morgernstern with some spoilers.

Now as a writer myself I’m a firm believer of the saying it is easier to criticize something than to create something yourself. With that in mind, I will be giving my review in the nicest way possible for a bad review to be given. It will still be my honest opinion though.

First off, the praise. Morgenstern really captured the spirit of the circus and made some fantastic characters, I loved Celia Bowen and Marco Alisdair. BUT (and there’s always a but isn’t there?) I felt you didn’t really learn much about them.

It felt like the book was more about the challenge (without focussing on the participants) than the characters or the actual circus. There was some absolutely amazing description but I felt a little disconnected from it. I hated the initiators of the competition and a large amount of the book seemed to be focussed on them. I didn’t like it. I wanted more about Celia and Marco. The sub-plot with Poppet and Bailey was fantastic admittedly but I was hoping for some more intensity with Celia and Marco.

The Midnight Dinners were great and at times you get lost in the descriptions of everything but overall I just felt a little let down by it.

I’d still probably reccomend it to people but with a warning of “It’s not everything you want it to be.”

An okay┬ástory, yes, written fantastically, definitely but it definitely didn’t live up to everything I had hoped it would.

And now I feel awful for slating it :(

4 Responses to “The Night Circus”

  1. Hannah Ackroyd June 1, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    I picked up this book a while ago but I haven’t got round to reading it yet. I have read a lot of reviews saying that people were disappointed with it though. I hope it lives up to my expectations!

    • hayleydid June 1, 2012 at 9:22 am #

      It’s a good book, lots of fantastic description, especially of the REALLY enchanting circus, but I felt that Celia and Marco’s love story element should have been more prevalent. That’s my main criticism of it. Her writing style is incredibly eloquent as well, lovely.

      • Hannah Ackroyd June 1, 2012 at 9:25 am #

        Hopefully the writing style will sway it for me, that was the reason I picked it up. I look forward to giving it a go anyway!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern | the modern austen - June 9, 2012

    [...] The Night Circus (ramblingsofanaberrantmind.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

